A 1.33 cm Miracle!!

Standard

Hi everyone!!!

Here is a pick of the little angel…. growing fast:

We are 7 weeks and 4 days far… time is flying!!!

I can’t wait for week 12 to arrive . I was reading some information about miscarriages ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miscarriage ) and according to doctors when week 12 arrives , the risk of miscarriage decreases significantly.

Every night when i go to bed I think and wish that the little angel holds on tight.

Every week I get in touch with the people at the clinic because I want to know how my surrogate is doing , how is the pregnancy affecting her and how is the general situation. thankfully Neha is always available to give me updates and thankfully everything is going on just fine.

I was talking to a very interesting woman yesterday ( http://michelleoquendo.com/ ) and we were talking about surrogacy and parenting. She made me realize something that I havent talked about and that is the fact that on this journey there are 3 souls involved: the little angel , my surrogate and me.

Everybody knows how I feel because I try my best to let you know with all the info that I provide with this blog . The little angel for sure is happy floating in and endless , warm , comfy and dark pool of liquid. The last one is my surrogate, how is his affecting her? How is she feeling about having to give the child that she is carrying in a few months?

I was researching a bit and there are no registered studies performed in order to study what is the impact that gestational surrogacy has on the surrogate mothers. Probably a big issue around this topic is the fact that surrogacy is not unplanned , by this I mean that when someone decides to have a child trough surrogacy , he/she has to plan everything in order to guarantee that the conception and pregnancy is achieved.

When one chooses a surrogate mother ( I had the great help and advice of Dr. Shivani) , one has to understand that this wonderful women that choose to carry a baby for nine months , have already thought about all the sensitive and delicate points that surrogacy involves. There is a mechanical way of looking at it and that is that this women are prepared to have a successful pregnancy in order to deliver a healthy baby for his/hers parents.

There are lots of interviews that have been done to surrogate mothers in order to discover how do they manage to not get attached to the growing baby, but every human being feels in a different way  . One thing is clear and that is that surrogacy for sure is a very extenuating process for the surrogate mother, not only physically but emotionally.

As for me ( and my little angel), the only thing I am sure off is that the clinic takes great care of their surrogate mothers and they try to make this process easier on them.

Michelle asked me if I have an emotional bond with my surrogate , my answer was that I believe I have a very special bond with her not only because I feel extremely grateful , but also because she is and always will be the woman who will make it possible for me to actually hold my baby in my arms.

This journey is a triangle that needs its 3 points to stay together, at least this is how I see it.

Thank you very much for reading , have a wonderful day and I will like to take the opportunity to propose a discussion forum on this issue… what do you think about it?

Looking forward to your comments.

 

About ecaiozzi

I am Enzo , born and raised in Quito - Ecuador ( South America). When I was 16 the adventure of my life started when thanx to the support of my parents I left to ^Prince Edward Island, Canada. Stayed there for a year with the Wilsons ( You are always in my mind) and met some of the most special people in the world ( Yes Syl it is you ). After the exchange program was over I decided to stay in Canada so I moved to Toronto and started studying biotechnology research applied to genetics . Was never good at school but I sure made it very well through college. Came back to Ecuador in 2004 and started working at a family business oriented to the manufacture of chemical products , cosmetics and a manufacturer of different product for international corporations. I have been working there since then in the production department and also in the HQSE (Health, Quality, Safety and Environment) department. Around june 2010 , something started growing inside so by August I was sure I wanted to become a parent. Since then , I have been through he most amazing journey that I am trying to share with you. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have, and most important of all I hope that other intending parents can realize that there are ways to make your dreams come true. All you need is love , determination and lots of information and support. Hopefully this blog will make a little change in someone's life , small changes are sometimes the most important ones. I heard this quote on a TV program ( not the best source for a quote) , and for sure it describes the way I want to feel: " Adapt or die. As many times as we've heard it, the lesson doesn't get easier. The problem is we're human. We want more than just to survive. We want love. We want success. We want to be the best that we can be. So, we fight like hell to get those things. Anything else feels like death." Thanx for reading...

3 responses »

  1. Enzo,

    I’m following a ton of blogs and several of them are from surrogates. There are some amazing blog entries that give me a little insight into how dedicated these women are while doing this process. These women inject themselves with meds for months, they become excited when the parents find egg donors, they cry when something goes wrong, they take pictures of their bellies for the parents to have and they talk about the joy they get from seeing their intended parents’ faces holding their babies after the birth. It helps me to see what the surrogates feel and know that they (at least most of them) are so happy to be a part of this process for people like us. Look at blogs and you’ll see some amazing thoughts expressed.

    • Dear Michael , thank you very much for your comment. I will search for the blogs you mention and soon enought i will post on them. I appreciate your help very much. By the way , your blog is very good!

  2. We are pregnant at the same time with SCI!! no doubt we will meet around the same time next year!.
    I do agree to an extent with your comments and I’m eternally grateful to our amazing surrogate & the whole process that she and her family have to go through – but for the sake of my sanity I have decided to look at this as a ‘business transaction’.
    I know it sounds cold and heartless – but to be honest I would lose my mind if I met her, her family etc. Everyday I worry about her – her health and everything but if I had a close relationship with her, I think our relationship would suffer and the control freak side of me would take over.
    I’m sure I’ll meet her – once we hold our child, but in the meantime – it’s best for us to not really know each other.

Leave a comment